Why is wine not vegan?
Nearly everybody loves a glass of wine, but does everybody know exactly what goes into the process to make this amazing drink! We think of grapes, surely! but its so much more and its pretty gross. In the early stage of the wine process, cheaper wines need to lose their cloudiness quicker, so wine makers use a filtering process which can include a number of animal products, including:
- Blood and bone marrow
- Casein (milk protein)
- Chitin (fiber from crustacean shells)
- Egg albumen
- Fish oil Gelatin (protein from boiling animal parts)
- Isinglass (gelatin from fish bladder membranes)
Most wines don’t actually list these on the label, so the general rule tends to be that any wine that doesn’t have a specific vegan marker on the bottle has been made using animal products. Leaving Vegans and Vegetarians in a grey space! Luckily there are plenty of wines that don’t use these methods, and we hope that suppliers can be more transparent with their labelling moving forward, so wine lovers have no need to feel grossed out.